Mail Us Today

4150 Freidrich Lane

Suite F Austin TX

Call Us Today


European Union Support to Democratic Governance in Nigeria (EU-SDGN)

On Monday, the 12th of September 2022, The European Union delegation to Nigeria and ECOWAS in Coordination with the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), organised an event to formally close the first phase of EU’s flagship democracy support to programmes in Nigeria and launched the second phase, which is expected to be implemented from 2022-2027. The closing event served as an opportunity to learn from EU’s democratic support to Nigeria which allowed attendees get insights into the plans for the second phase. The event was held at the International Conference Centre (ICC) Abuja, Nigeria. During the event, a good will message was presented by the European Ambassador to Nigeria and ECOWAS, Ambassador Samuela Isopi and Prof. Mahmood Yakubu Chairman, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC). There were two panel sessions, the first was on EU-Support to Democratic Governance in Nigeria-SDNG’s contribution to Nigeria’s Democratic Consolidation, the discussants were; Mr. Jake Epelle, CEO Albino Foundation, Dr. Musa Umar, National Insyitute of Peace and Strategic Studies, Ms. Brenda Nwosa, Programme Officer, Policy and Legal Advocacy Centre (PLAC), Mr. Arogundade, Executive Director, International Press Centre., Chigozirim Okoro, Programme Manager, CLEEN Foundation and Manji Wilson, Deputy Project Coordinator, European Centre for Electoral Support (ECES) who moderated the session. The second session was on the Challenges and opportunities for a credible 2023 General election in Nigeria, the discussants were; Prof. Attahiru Jega, Former Honourable Chairman, INEC, Prof. Anthonia Simbine, Former National Commissioner, INEC, Dr. Joe Abah, Country Director, DAI, Ms. Cynthia Mbamalu, Head of Programmes, Yiaga Africa, Fr. Atta Barkindo, Head of secretariat, The National Peace Committee and Mr. Seun Okinbaloye, Channels TV who moderated the session. AYGF was ably represented by its Head of Programmes, Patricia Akor.

© 2024 AYGF Canada

Working Hours


Thematic Areas